Jiro, I dreamed of your sushi

Jiro Dreams of Sushi is a documentary film about Jiro Ono, owner of a Michelin 3 star restaurant, on his continuing quest for perfection in the art of sushi making.

This film leaves a huge impression on me after watching. It’s not just about the extremely delicate and beautiful sushi, but more about a man relentless pursuit of perfection and how it has influenced people around him. Highly recommended for watching, especially sushi lovers. But word of caution, watch with a full stomach 🙂

I always want to do a food render, so this is the best window after inspiration from Jiro. Gosh…. Knowing beforehand food render is tough doesn’t get me prepared for what I was about to face, the shaders are killer! Initially I got the basic look pretty fast, but to make them believable as something we might come across on a daily basis, I went down the “horrid” path of perfection :p. I recalled spending hours after work just adjusting the shader properties by 5 or 10, render, rinse.

Not the perfect result Jiro would approve, but I can do with this, I just had enough sushi haha! (Ok, no more fixing, time to move on)

Giovi_Sushi2

All done in 3DS Max, rendered with Mental Ray and post with Nuke and Photoshop. Background image gotten from the documentary.

Wireframe

Giovi_Sushi_Wireframe

Leave a Reply

